A Small Town Social Update

Hello! It’s me, Brina L Schenk, the one who so enthusiastically started and updated Small Town Social for almost 2 years….along with a special amount of help from some friends who gave their time freely.

As you may have noticed my posts have been less than what they used to be (since the beginning of 2011) and it’s 100% due to the fact that I am pregnant (now over 8 months) and my energy and focus has gone elsewhere. I know there are a few of you (you know who you two are) that miss the good old days of three posts a day but I am becoming more and more aware of how:

1. I am less and less dedicated to this amazing project that at one time was all I could think about.

2. the people of Fernie (and the rest of the Elk Valley) have certainly stepped it up in terms of getting information out there to the community. I slowly clap and gradually clap faster, more enthusiastically, for all those local businesses who have embraced social media in the past couple years, a few that come to mind are: Freyja Fashion (and all the other projects Chantel has started up), Fernie Fix, Essential Yoga Studio, Fernie Chamber of Commerce, Boardstiff, Sparwood Golf, Elkford, Kyle at The Northern, Loaf Bakery, Le Grand Fromage, Poison Apple Tattoo, Shred Kelly and Fernie Alpine Resort. There are so many more local businesses on Twitter, Facebook and blogging now compared to 2009. It’s a fact.

3. I love pie. This is not important but it’s also a fact and I wanted to have three points. This past weekend I made my first pie from scratch and it tastes delicious.

This isn’t a good-bye, by any means, but more of an explanation as to why STS has slowed down and will most likely slow down even more in the near future. If you keep coming back, bless you, but if you decide to move on, I completely understand.

Thank you for coming to Small Town Social as often as you have (even if this is the first time) and I hope to one day be able to get more involved in the community again. Right now I am going to focus on being the best mom I can be and will, most likely, report on our adventures as a small family living socially in this town. It still works. Right?

Well, look at me! I’m so grown up.

2 responses to “A Small Town Social Update

  1. Thanks, Kelly! That was really nice to wake up to. I have thoroughly enjoyed Small Town Social and don’t imagine I will just give up blogging any time soon. I’ve been blogging for almost 5 years now and once you get used to opening up and putting yourself out there, you start to enjoy the freedom. Thanks for sticking with me.

  2. There maybe others out there but there is only one U. Good Luck with your new family addition and enjoy. I for one will be happy to see what blog come with that new adventure!

Leave a Reply

