Pickle-Ball?

While perusing The Free Press yesterday I noticed this little announcement in the City Of Sparwood section. It was titled Pickle-ball. What?! I mean, I don’t really like pickles, unless it’s on a hamburger, but balls, I kind of like balls. So, I read further. “Looking for something new and different to try? Pickle-ball is a racquet sport which combines elements of badminton, tennis, and table tennis.” And I thought to myself “I love badminton, tennis and ping pong!” So, I read further. “Pickle-ball is played with two or four players using solid paddles made of wood or composite materials to hit a polymer perforated ball over a net.”

Yes!

pickle-ball - now in sparwood

I looked further in to this fusion sport and I found an official Pickle-ball website. On the website I found some information.

Basic Overview

Pickle-ball® is played on a badminton-sized court: 20’ x 44.’ The ball is served diagonally (starting with the right-hand service-square), and points can only be scored by the side that serves.

Players on each side must let the ball bounce once before volleys are allowed, and there is a seven-foot no-volley zone on each side of the net, to prevent “spiking.” The server continues to serve, alternating service courts, until he or she faults. The first side scoring eleven points and leading by at least two points wins. Pickle-ball® can be played with singles or doubles.

pickle_ball court - now in sparwood bc
Apparently, Pickle Ball equipment is now available at the front desk to be used in racquet ball courts at the Sparwood Leisure Centre.

Leave a Reply

