Confessions Of A Lazy Person : The Mental Game

At what point is running actually about running because, as far as I can see, it’s about what your brain is thinking you can or can’t do. I mentally slapped my running partner in the face when she told me we were going to start running for 3 minute intervals from 1 1/2 minutes. I thought she was the meanest person on earth. How dare she?! I’m not ready for that.

Turns out, I was ready.

I was so sure I couldn’t do it, for whatever reason, and came close to telling her she might need to find a new partner because she had outgrown me. I was wrong and she knew it too. My running partner is also good at chatting through the three minutes so three minutes doesn’t feel like 10 minutes. Next we’re moving up to 5 minute intervals and I get a little puke in my mouth at just the thought of it. My running partner is so mean. I might have come down with a nasty cold by then. Hopefully.

Leave a Reply

