What I Thought Of : The Republic of Love by Carol Shields

The Republic of Love - a novel - Carol Shields. What I'm reading now...I picked up a book about love at the reuse centre in Fernie – life is a little funny sometimes. I’m not sure I’ve ever read a book so focused on love and what love can do and feel like. It was refreshing, although published in 1995 so this modern story about love had things like VCRs and hand written letters.

Although, The Republic of Love by Carol Shields is a bit slow and contemplative, I enjoyed picking it up when I had the time to do so. It wasn’t like I was trying to get this book done, which happens with some books.

The Republic of Love tells the story of two people who grew up and live in Winnipeg and have never met but their friends and family are all interwoven. Half way through the book they meet and they fall in love but love is never as simple as just falling in love, the end. Love is a complicated idea/feeling/concept. It’s interesting how uniquely each person can experience love and react to it. The book tries to show that in all the different characters you meet – the differences and changes that happen through the years. I used to think, when I was kid, that love was something you find and it never goes away. It never causes problems or makes you act in a strange way. Then I grew up. Love can change everything, love can fade, love can smother, love can be one sided, love can be life altering, love can hurt and love can put you in a state of euphoria. Love and life is messy.

A book about love. Who knew I was ready for that?! I fully enjoyed reading it. Thanks, Carol.

And that’s in my uneducated opinion.

Leave a Reply

