What I Thought Of : Secret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Secret Daughter a novel by Shilpi Somaya GowdaSecret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda was picked up at a recent Bake & Book sale (fundraiser for SNiP) – I always find it interesting how certain books enter my life – and I could not have read it at a better time in my life. The subject of adoption has come up with various people in my life quite frequently lately. Secret Daughter is about two women who are connected by the child that links the two together. One woman secretly brought her daughter to an orphanage in India because they were too poor to keep her and an American woman adopted her.

The story centers around two women who show power and strength in very different ways while dealing with their own realities. Everyone can relate to that, I think. No matter what choice we make in life, we can’t avoid challenges and pain. Some pain is much harder to tolerate while others can be forgiven and forgotten. With each woman there is a man who make choices, as well, and they must also live and deal with certain consequences. There’s an interesting balance in a marriage. No? How and when to make choices you know the other doesn’t agree with but you choose them anyway. How do you both heal? How does one forgive? Again, it comes down to making a choice.

When I think about my own kids and the problems they could face, I get all mama bear and my fists get tight. My own journey with letting go and allowing my children to make their own mistakes, it will be a tough one. Strength does not come from having your mom take care of all of your problems. I must remember that my kids are a force of their own. They will have to decide what’s best for them and forgive and still love themselves when they chose poorly. Lastly, but most importantly, I must not forget about who I am and where I come from.

Our story is important and our struggle is what strengthens us.

Secret Daughter could go in the dictionary under “easy read”, if that was even a possibility, but if I can read a book and be reminded about the power of love and forgiveness, it was a good read.

And that’s in my uneducated opinion.

Leave a Reply

