What I Thought Of : Lost Lake By Sarah Addison Allen

Lost Lake by Sarah Addison AllenI was madly looking for my next book to read and both books suggested for this month’s Accidental Book Club were not in at Fernie Heritage Library. I couldn’t go home empty handed, so I picked up Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen. The other books will have to wait. As soon as I picked up Lost Lake, I couldn’t put it down. It’s definitely an easy read and a novel I could see as a feature film starring Meryl Streep and Reese Witherspoon that would definitely be put on the Chick Flick shelf…but I still got lost in Lost Lake and finished it in less than 3 days. That’s a record for me, in the 3 years.

Lost Lake is about that time in your life when you are in the middle of change – a time of reflection and shedding of old skin. All the characters, who meet at Lost Lake for their own reasons, are heading to this place without realizing the magic it holds and the place it has in their hearts. A woman named Eby, of around seventy, owns the resort but wonders if this run down place was the ending to her story. Lissette, a girl who followed Eby and her husband to Lost Lake holds tight to her past. Kate and her daughter Devin flee to Lost Lake looking for answers and happiness with Great Aunt Eby. Wes, the boy Kate met as a child during a short family vacation, has to find his own happiness. There are more interesting characters to come to the lake throughout the book and each one is a little bit lost and each one will have to make some big decisions but they aren’t about to do it alone.  It’s nice to read about people who are lost, even at an old age, because I always feel as though I shouldn’t be in transition anymore. I should have figured it all out by now but I know nothing is permanent and we must all adapt as the world changes. It’s easy to get lost in the mess and feel lonely but the book shows you the importance of people – a support system.

A couple quotes from the book that stood out for me:

“The world was not like him and was not going to change for him. The trick to getting through life, she’d told him, is not to resent it when it isn’t exactly how you think it should be.”

and

“Lisette took a deep breath and stood up.
When  your cup is empty, you do not mourn what is gone.
Because if you do, you will miss the opportunity to fill it again.”

If this book does become a movie one day, I wouldn’t be surprised. It’s got all the good stuff : love, magic, mystery, sadness, joy, friendship and alligators. I’d see it. Now I need to get this book back to the library so I can pick up Judy Blume’s In The Unlikely Event.

And that in my uneducated opinion.

Leave a Reply

