What I Thought Of : When You Are Engulfed in Flames By David Sedaris

david sedaris - when you are engulfed in flamesI think David Sedaris is hilarious and I should thank Albertine De Leon for introducing us to each other. David and I have been friends for a few years now, not the kind of friend you see all the time but one you see occasionally, without guilt and you have the best time together. This time David told me many short stories in When You Are Engulfed In Flames taken from David Sedaris’ life and most of them are embarrassing and include thoughts that you may have thought yourself but, most likely, wouldn’t say out loud…so there’s a lot of chuckling going on (or there was when i was reading it ahem I mean, listening to him talk to me.)

David Sedaris writes so you feel like you’re sitting in a bar having a beer and having the best time listening to the last crazy thing David did last night or what he did when he was a kid. It’s what I love about his books…plus, I was able to pause the conversation so I could smash The Unlikely Event of Harold Fry and then we picked up right where we left off without any problems.

You’re not about to discover any answers to world problems or feel touched by his heroic deeds but you can always relate to him in some way and have a good laugh at someone else’s expense.

If you want to read a chapter from the book, he had Turbulence published in The New Yorker and it’s online: www.newyorker.com/magazine/2005/06/13/turbulence

And that’s in my uneducated opinion.

 

Leave a Reply

