Confessions Of A Lazy Person : Running With Bears

One of my greatest fears, since moving to Fernie, is running into a bear – especially, a hungry, scared bear. Last night I went for a run with my running partner and we saw a bear saunter down an adjacent pathway. My friend and I looked at one another and our jaws dropped because it was casually walking away from where we just were. What if?! is what our lowered jaws were saying.

We try and stick to well used pathways and my huffing and puffing most likely tips the bears off to our whereabouts but STILL I really wish bears had a bedtime or wore bells so we could hear them. Wouldn’t that be lovely?

I do understand being scared of bears is not the right attitude but you hear too many stories and you just hope that you aren’t going to encounter that one bear that acts unpredictably.

Don’t you worry about us though. We’ve already decided that, if we do run into a bear, I will jump on my friend’s shoulders and be big, loud and dominant with it and direct the confused bear in the direction of some berries. We’ll be fine!

Leave a Reply

