What I Thought Of : Abide With me By Elizabeth Strout

Abide With me - Book I'm Reading - Small Town SocialAbide with Me by Elizabeth Strout was borrowed from the Fernie Heritage Library as a filler because the books I requested  were out. I had typed Elizabeth Strout’s name in my ‘book’ notes on my phone but it wasn’t the exact novel recommended but I thought I’d give this one a try. Abide With Me is mostly about a family, the father being a minister, living in a small town in America and surviving and dealing with loss.

The book doesn’t show much positivity or too much activity either but there is a beautiful look at how a family deals with tragedy – and even the community around them. Strout gives all sorts of perspectives in this town – teachers, patronages, family, friends, house keepers etc. What the people around the family observes and what they expect from them is so harsh. If I ever talk to anyone that is grieving, I hope I am patient, loving and kind and never push them to move on or be happy.

I’m interested in reading another book by Elizabeth Strout – I hear Olive Kitterage is great…but after this book of sadness, I’m not sure I’m ready for it just yet.

And that’s in my uneducated opinion.

Leave a Reply

