What I Thought Of : A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

A Tale for the Time Being a novel by Ruth OzekiI just finished A Tale for the Time Being this morning. A book I borrowed from a fellow Accidental Book Club member (Thanks, Courtney). It’s been a while since I’ve read something that got me thinking and wondering about quantum physics. Are we living multiple lives right now? We have infinite alternate realities? Could there really be 4 billion moments in every day?

This book started off really slow. A women finds a diary from a girl in Japan along the coast of a remote BC island in a ziplock bag and starts reading it. This woman, let’s call her Ruth because that’s what her name is, starts getting involved in the writer’s life and seems to feel responsible for her. In a strange way, they become friends without knowing each other.

It took me over a month to read this book. It wasn’t until I got to the last 100 pages when I really began wanting to know more and actually caring about what happens. I’m amazed I finished it at all, to tell you the truth. I have other actual book club books I should be reading. But I’m glad I got through it.

Often times I am in a moment in my own life when I know I need to do something but I haven’t and then I read a book that engages my brain and gives it a little kick. I think that’s precisely what happens to Ruth in the book as well.

In the end, I can say I did like it. I liked it a lot. It felt a little like homework at times but in the end I feel fresh and ready…for something.

And that’s in my uneducated opinion.

Leave a Reply

