Confessions Of A Lazy Person : Break A Leg

Broken Leg in Fernie BC

In a way, breaking my leg in January allowed me to be as lazy as I wanted for a short amount of time. I had no responsibilities! Not one. Other than to heal, drink water, take my meds and put on a brave face when visitors come by. In the beginning, my leg felt like it was about to exploded for a few weeks.. Literally, it felt like the pressure was so great my leg was going to POP and all my bones, muscles and blood would paint every wall in my room….and then there’s the intense pins and needles. It’s not fun.

Imagine having no responsibilities, though. I didn’t even have to get my own coffee. After over 5 years of having little dependents and being a mom, a wife, a friend, a person with disappointments, failings, successes, hopes, dreams and then all of a sudden I didn’t have to think about any of that.

It was amazing.

I feel bad having enjoyed a little part of the nightmare of breaking  my leg. I also hated it. But that goes for most things. Doesn’t’ it?

Of course, when I got the chance to be independent, I jumped (slowly crutched) on it. To have to rely on people to come by and make sure you’ve had a meal, it’s not something I’m used to. I used to take great pride in my ability to handle things on my own. Now I understand the power of plenty.

I’m back on my feet, No cast. I’m glad for the rest. I’m also glowing just thinking about getting back to my family, successes, hopes, dreams and disappointments.

Leave a Reply

